The Inception of Jasonjas V2

2024-08-30 08:09:56 -0400 EDT

so… its finally here.

frankly, i never thought it was going to be here. It wasn’t until I got tailwindcss working in vscode that it seemed like it would be possible to actually make the site pretty enough to warrant making a hobby. If you are into web development you may have also noticed that the static site generator hugo is being utilized to make pages like this one significantly easier to produce. learning and using new tools like these is the sole reason i made v2 in the first place.

another thing to note is that v2 maybe replaced much sooner than v1. The reason why v2 launched today despite not fully finished is because tomorrow is the day i move into my university. If you read the blurb at the top of the website, you would know that part of the goal of this site is to provide knowledge that will pick up from uni to the neocites masses. Part of the goal is to update the site fairly regularly with each note being posted roughly the same day or week I wrote it in class. Therefore, if i would like to be topical with updating the site, i should have it ready before i have a single note or assignment or whatever.

I went off topic - the reason v2 might quickly be replaced by a v3 is because there is a web development club at my university and i suspect that i am gonna to learn and be involved with so many website making tools that it’ll not be long before i want redo the jasonjas with my new knowledge. I want to use a front end framework and api’s and libraries and databases. I’m aware that using hugo and tailwind at all is a way more complicated techstack than most sites on neocites, but the main reason i made it in the first place was to use the site as a testing ground for me to learn all these cool tools. I don’t know why im defending myself. i guess im worried that using modern dev tools goes against neocites diy attitude, but its not like im working on it any less. i don’t know. if a suddenly disappear for a month and reappear with a button that says “made with Vue,” you know why.

Next time, i don’t think ill take the site down while working on it. I’ll probably just add a disclaimer saying “v3 is currently underway! v2 will no longer be updated” or something.

cahab cahab rain